First United Methodist Church & Hut Bible Class

In 1845, the first church building at First United Methodist Church was completed on the site that is now the Hut Bible Class building. In 1898 the first church building was dismantled and the second sanctuary was constructed; this building is known as "The Hut" and is used by the Hut Bible Class. The building was constructed in the Gothic style with a seating capacity of 330. It has ornamental windows of opal glass, the main ones being 15 feet high. This church was dedicated Sunday, October 23rd, 1898.

A fund for the first church building was started in 1828 by a small group of women that met regularly in the home of Ms. Janie Norman. A bowl was passed around at each meeting to collect funds for a church. Seventeen years later, the church was built. The bowl can still be found at the church.

View Conway QR code tour in a larger map

To get to the next stop:

Cross Main Street. The next Historic Tour Stop is located on your left by the oak tree. Watch for traffic!


Tweet