Kingston Presbyterian Church and Old Village Burial Ground

The township of Kingston, now known as Conway, was open for settlement in 1735. In the original plan of the town, the area now occupied by Kingston Church's graveyard was laid out as part of the town commons. On May 30th, 1858, the first religious service was held in the sanctuary and the present Kingston Presbyterian Church was officially organized.

Construction was done under the direction of Otis Eaton, a master builder, who came from Maine to build ships in Bucksville, SC.

A wooden panel originally divided the pews down the center of the sanctuary. Men sat on the west side; women and children sat on the east side. This tradition was abandoned in the late 1800's when Mrs. Cephas Perry Quattlebaum decided to move with her children to the west side of the sanctuary to sit with her husband.

View Conway QR code tour in a larger map

To get to the next stop:

Turn right and follow the sidewalk to the Riverwalk Archway (one block and around the bend). Continue under the archway. The next Historic Tour Stop is located on your right. Watch the traffic!


Tweet