About

Conway, SC

In 1732, the site of the Town of Kingston (Conway) was marked out. In 1734, a plan for the town was completed and by 1735, the first settlers had begun to arrive. In 1785, new lines were drawn and "Kingston County" was created out of the old district. The new county's name was changed to "Horry District" in honor of General Peter Horry in 1801 and a courthouse was established in Kingston. The name of the Village of Kingston was later changed to Conwayborough, for General Robert Conway, a general in the SC State Militia. Much of the present day downtown was built in the early 1900s following a destructive fire. The live oak trees and the beautiful Waccamaw River provide the perfect setting for South Carolina's Historic Rivertown.

Start the Tour

Make a social Media Post

RiverWalk Picture